Gary O. Rankin, PhD

WV-INBRE Principal Investigator

Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Huntington, WV
(304) 696-7313 /

Dr. Rankin received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 1972, and his Ph.D. degree in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Mississippi in 1976. He served as Postdoctoral Fellow in Pharmacology at the Medical College of Ohio in Toledo from 1976 to 1978, and joined the newly formed Marshall University School of Medicine in 1978. He has served as Assistant Professor (1978-1982), Associate Professor (1982-1985) and Professor and Chair of the Departments of Pharmacology (1986-2005) and Pharmacology, Physiology and Toxicology (2005-2016). He also served as Associate Dean for Biomedical Graduate Education and Research Development (1989-1992). He is currently Chair of the Department of Biomedical Sciences and Vice Dean for Basic Sciences (2016-Present). Dr. Rankin's research interests are in the area of renal toxicology and include the nephrotoxicity induced by succinimides and aminochlorophenols, urotoxicity induced by halogenated anilines, renal transport of drug metabolites and the bioactivation of chemicals to nephrotoxicant species. Dr. Rankin is a member of several professional societies including the Association of Medical School Pharmacology Chairs (AMSPC; Secretary 2002-2004; President 2004-2006), Society of Toxicology (SOT), American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) and the West Virginia Academy of Sciences. He has served on/chaired several committees for SOT and ASPET and has held offices in the Ohio Valley SOT Chapter (Vice President, 1989-1990; President, 1990; Counselor, 1991-1995). He was a regular member of NIH TOX1 and ALTOX4 Study Sections (1994-1999) and serves as a frequent ad hoc reviewer for NIH Special Study Sections, including Chairing IDeA Program Special Study Sections. He is an Associate Editor for Toxicology (2019-Present) and the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (2016-Present). He has authored or co-authored over 150 peer-reviewed manuscripts, 25 review articles, 20 book chapters, and almost 300 research presentations at local, regional, national and international meetings. Honors include the Joseph Sam Distinguished Alumnus Award (University of Mississippi, 2013), selection as Honorary Alumnus of the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine (2018), and the Career Award from the Division of Toxicology, ASPET (2019).